Shattering Glass by Gail Giles

Simon Pulse; Reprint edition (September 1, 2003) 224 pages

My formula to avoiding “reader’s block” is to switch from one genre to another. So if ive just read a heavy loaded drama/history sort of novel, I immediately go to my sister’s book shelf. Chick Lit, as she defines her selections. You have to be open to all types of novels because they are all essential in reading. After reading a so-called “Chick Lit”, your mind will be ready for yet another thick and serious read.

I decided to choose one that didnt look at all like a Gossip Girl type, because I didnt want to read the word “Whatever” at least 543 times in one book. So I picked one that was not so thick. And this one reminded me of my old R.L Stine and Christopher Pike days.

Brazos Vale High School in Texas. Rob Haynes is your typical popular high school guy. Everyone’s friend, teachers pet. And of course, leader of a clique. Rob and his friends spot fat, clumsy Simon Glass, the loser nerd who “occupies the lowest rung on the high school ladder.” Rob decides to make this experiment, to test just how influential he is, he will turn Simon from the laughing stock to the most liked student. In other words, in exchange for lessons and answers , they give him a makeover. A haircut, new wardrobe, diet, excercise, the works.

Rob succeeds and in no time, Simon becomes popular and well liked. Even more liked than Rob. Obviously he is not happy with this, and decides to bring him down. But smart Simon, because he is still a geek at heart, has researched some dodgy past about Rob. And in the end, when he decides to use this against Rob, he gets murdered. By baseball bats, by the very same “Fab Five” guys who made him over. Right after the prom dance.

In a nutshell, this is “Mean Boys” and “Queer Eye” gone headless chicken. Sooo not a chick lit. Whew.

26 responses to “Shattering Glass by Gail Giles

  1. Yeah the book was pretty good and all it got right to the point but kinda gave away the ending that was so good. I think the ending should have been kept a secret but it was really great. After a while the book was hard to put down and i got really intense at some points. I would rate the book an 8 out of 10 even though i liked it alot.

  2. The book was rather disturbing but I found it quite intense. Though it was obvious about what was to happen at the end. But I would rate this book a 9 out of 10. The only thing I disliked is that I feel as if it lacked at certain points.

  3. i just got done reading it like 13 minutes ago. It was my favorite book. The ending was creepy but really good. It left me with a lot of questions, but the story was very well planned out.

  4. lol finished it yesterday. I seriously loved it. :). I dunno I just did. It didn’t matter to me. I read alot now. It’s scary.

    But hey I love this book. And I do like to alternate in genres.

  5. i AM TRYING TO FIND OUT IF THIS WAS A CHALLENGED BOOK AS FAR AS BEING BANNED. I READ IT AND LIKED IT, I WAS TOLD IT WAS CHALLENGED.

  6. I Just finish reading this book. Like another comment said the ending was sort of predictable. I definitely wouldn’t consider it my favourite book of all time but it was still a really good book. I would probably rate it a 7.5 out of ten and I thoroghly recommened it to others!

  7. I’m still reading it. For some reason i dont like Glass..,maybe it’s becuas

  8. because of the way Rob basicallt babies the shit outta him…i dont know what it is i dont like about Glass but for some reason i dont like him

  9. Man, this book was great. Even though i was saying in my mind. Young was doing the wrong thing, he did it anyways. Some parts in this book was easy to make of, because of the beginning of the chapter. Other then that people should read this book because it’s so good.

    10/10

  10. OMG. i wanted the book inside me all night long for the rest of my life. it was that gooooooood. i still have chills when i think about it.

    :—- o:

  11. I was a really good book and im wondering wat was the main conflict in the story?

  12. I finished it earlier today, and I knew it was going to happen but I still felt the shock and sadness from it. But I think it should have been handled differently…to me it didn’t seem realistic to a degree. But it was still okay.

  13. Personally, I loved this book! I especially liked how G. Giles put a quote from different characters from the book before each chapter. It kept making me soooooo interested in what was going to happen. Some of it was predictable, of course, but regardless… was AMAZING! Also the plot was interesting because you wouldn’t think that something like this would happen, especially what happens after (some quotes on each chapter) like the jail time and injuries. After I read it, I re-read each chapter’s beginning character quotes (not that I didn’t remember every one of them- haha) and it made more sense then.

  14. I actually loved this book. It showed how different characters in high school all come together for a common cause. When the normal teenager reads this it seems like they can relate to at least on of the characters in the book. Gail Giles really captured the minds of teenagers.

  15. I really enjoyed reading this novel. The first sentence was what really caught my attention and it made me want to keep reading. The characters are really interesting and the whole situation was kind of exaggerated in a way. Although I do believe that something like this can happen, there are people that would do something like that. It’s a scary thought but thats what I found interesting. Gail Giles is a great writer for young readers and I actually just finished reading another of her books!

  16. philip britton

    I thought the book was ok. I didn’t entirely enjoy it, due to the fact that every dramatic occurance was amplified to a point where it seemed unreal. However the characters where well established, and the story was easy to read. I did like the fact that the diary enteries at the beginning of every chapter filled you in as to what was happening. Over all i would recomend this book to other readers, because most people seem to enjoy it.

  17. Melanie Douglas

    The book was a good read, except for the fact that the ending was given away at the beginning. Other than that, the book kept me interested and wanting to know more. Although the ending was given away, the events that led up to Simon’s death made it a little obvious what the outcome of the story would be.

  18. The book was very good at first. I enjoyed the story up until the last fifteen pages. At the end it seems like the story was rushed and the main plot was ridiculous. I have only read one of her books but I have surveyed peers on some of her others. She leaves her books with unanswered questions, confusing plotholes, and ridiculous endings. I would never recommend this book to anyone, unless they wanted to be overly disapointed at the end. Gail Giles needs to learn to write towards her audience. Her audience are young adults and high school students, but she writes toward mental patients. I feel like I have gone somewhat crazy reading this story and wasted several days in the process. In all Giles needes to learn to write good stories with good endings. If I wanted an open ended situation I would take a walk.

  19. I picked up this book beacuse i love the “loser rises to the top”type of books.I felt that i could totally relate to simon beacuse the same thing is happening to me right now except the being dead part. I seriously love this book i give it a 9/10

    P.S I DO NOT THINK THAT THE ENDING WAS PREDICTABLE.I MEAN THE AUTHOR HINTED BUT YOU WOULDN’T THINK THAT HE WOULD DIE THE WAY HE DID

    SOMEONE SHOULD CALL HOLLYWOOD AND RECCOMEND THEM TO MAKE THIS BOOK INTO A MOVIE BEACUSE I WOULD TOTALLY WATCH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  20. Best book ive ever read:P
    LoL it maked me cry sometimes:o but it still best book ive read:P
    It was really sadd, that Ronna never gonna be a Friend of Young:(
    Im 10 Year.. And this is a really good book:P
    <SRRY FOR MY ENGLISH :O IM FROM NETHERLAND AND WE HAVE HERE THE BOOK TO THEN IN US LANGUAGE THE BOOK CALLED: DOORGESLAGEN MEANS
    But it was Young’s Foult too he did gave his Girlfriend away:o
    At the end it was not really happy ENDING=(
    Simon is gonna die.. And why is Cooper there on the ground ?
    Rob Did smash Glass with a Knuppel And BOB did smash him..
    Young didn’t do anything..
    It was good of it..
    All 4 DID THE GOOD THING=( GOODJOB<Cooper Rob Bob and Young..
    Goodluck With ur universe Coop:)

  21. i just finished the book and i enjoyed it! Even though the ending was for seen and i already knew what was gonna happen, the way it was portrayed was anything then predictable. The only problem i had with the book, is it left me with unanswered questions. I would of prefered it to continue into how there lives went on after and how the whole school reacted as soon as it happened. Other then that i love it. A solid 8 out of 10 would be sufficient. Kinda wish there was a sequel.

  22. This was a good book!!! i liked me in it

  23. trent greenwood

    faggots you all suck

  24. Ok i loved the book but hated the ending, even though i knew it from the first sentence in the book. i am the type who likes some sort of happy endind :). anyway after reading this for my language arts class i realized why the auther had the bob and rob kill simon with the baseball bats. the baseball bats represented what the guys hated about simon. they were in the equipment clostet which was refurred to as robs “office”. every time they went in there someone tripped over the “baseball bats” and rob was always complaining about something simon did wrong. ok, well i just wanted to say rob was not mad at simon for being too popular, no, but changing his votes from most liked to wittiest and this was not the plan rob had.

  25. ^^^ te he i sound pretty smart 😉

  26. As somebody commented they wish it would of went on about how their lives ended up., but the quotes from the characters at the beginning of each chapter hints what happens. Coop goes on to be a 4th grade teacher and when Young gets out of jail he will live with Coop. Rob ran away and moved with his mother is Rio or something like that. It just doesn’t tell what happens to Bob other than probation

Leave a Reply

